Email CA Senate

Click on the button to send an email to the members of the California Senate Education Committee about supporting AB 101:

CA_Senate_button.png

 

Or if you prefer, you can copy and paste the text from below:

TO:

Senator.Liu@senate.ca.gov, Senator.Runner@senate.ca.gov, Senator.Block@sen.ca.gov, Senator.Hancock@senate.ca.gov, Senator.Leyva@senate.ca.gov, Senator.Mendoza@senate.ca.gov, Senator.Monning@senate.ca.gov, Senator.Pan@senate.ca.gov, Senator.Vidak@senate.ca.gov

CC:

assemblymember.alejo@assembly.ca.gov, info@ethnicstudiesnow.com

SUBJECT LINE: 

Re: SUPPORT AB 101 (Alejo): Ethnic Studies for California High Schools

 

Dear Honorable Members of the Senate Education Committee,

Please support AB 101 Ethnic Studies (Alejo) in the upcoming Education Committee vote.  
     
Waves of school districts across California have passed resolutions expanding or making Ethnic Studies a high school graduation requirement, including: El Rancho, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Sacramento, San Diego, Woodland, Montebello, Basset, Santa Ana, Lynwood and El Monte Unified School Districts.
     
Research studies have demonstrated that truancy rates decrease and graduation rates rise among students who have taken Ethnic Studies courses. The NEA 2010 research review by Dr. Christine Sleeter looked at all available published research on the impact Ethnic Studies curricula has on students and determined that there is dramatic academic and social value in Ethnic Studies.  
     
Developing Ethnic Studies programs in public high schools is an integral part of cultivating a classroom environment that is accepting of diverse cultures. It is vital for young people to learn about their history, but also important for them to feel like they can change their communities in positive ways. This bill will help close the achievement gap by reducing student truancy, increasing student enrollment, reducing drop-out rates, and helping Californian youth to be college prepared and career ready.  
     
Please support AB 101 Ethnic Studies and help us continue the movement for Ethnic Studies in our schools.    
     
Thank you for your consideration.  
     

 

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Donate TOOLKIT

connect

get updates